Alistair Maclean

  • Scottish novelist
  • Born April 28, 1922
  • Died February 2, 1987

Alistair Stuart MacLean (Scottish Gaelic: Alasdair MacGill-Eain; 21 April 1922 – 2 February 1987) was a Scottish novelist who wrote popular thrillers and adventure stories. His works include The Guns of Navarone, Ice Station Zebra and Where Eagles Dare – all three were made into popular films. He also wrote two novels under the pseudonym Ian Stuart.

I wrote each book in thirty-five days flat - just to get the darned thing finished.

I'm not a born writer, and I don't enjoy writing.